RSS Feed

Room by Emma Donoghue

Posted on

“Jack is five. He lives with his ma in a single, locked room. They don’t have a key. They are prisoners”.

I can honestly say that I have NEVER read a book like this before.

The story is told by 5 year old Jack which is very different right from the beginning. His view on the world is very odd – as it would be if you have lived your whole life in an 11 x 11 foot room for all of your short  years.

Jack and his “Ma” live in Room. Most of the things in the room have their noun for their names. For example, the chair is Chair and the bed is Bed. In Room there is Wardrobe where Jack sleeps when “Old Nick” visits Ma at night.

I don’t want to give too much away about this book – especially if you would like to read it but lets just say it was a very unique and creative story. Some bits I found a little weird and about half way through it got a little hmm but I am glad I kept reading.

One response »

  1. This book was so freaking popular last year that the waiting list to borrow at the library was darn silly, think long lol. So then I decided to buy it, well lol most shops had sold out but I eventually managed to find a copy. I enjoyed it, sounds like an odd word to use for this book. As I said on Facebook, I was emotionally exhausted when I got to the end of this book.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

