RSS Feed

Blogsphere Book and other bits and bobs!

I am so pleased that I have joined in Penny’s Blogshere Book Circle. Feb’s book was “The Guernsey Literacy & Potato Peel Pie Society”.

The book is set in 1946 where Juliet (a newspaper coloum writer) recieves a letter from a man from Guernsey who comes across a book once owned by her. They begin writing to each other along with other members of the The Guernsey Literacy & Potato Peel Pie Society.

At first I found it really hard to get into this book. The letter format really put me off as it felt as though the book didn’t flow. Though about half way into the book, when Juliet heads to Guernsey I really got into it. I LOVED this book. It was moving, witty and it really made me think especially about what it would of been like to live during and after WWII. Of course now I want to go to Guernesy! I have have been doing a little research about the Island & it looks like such a neat place. Will add to the list of places to go.

My exercise programme that I started on Monday has been going fantastic. I love it feeling of aching muscles – good for the soul!

There has been alot of talk around here about jobs, babies and travelling – mainly from Miss 4yrs. She tells me she really wants to go to Paris and wanted to know if there is a hospital there for her to have her baby. She is also interested in working on the farm, in a post office, McDonalds and having lots of babies! Lots of great discussions going on around her at the moment I tell you.

7 responses »

  1. Yay! I’ve really enjoyed it too and I’m glad you persevered with it.

    Miss 4 is having quite a few ambitions there 🙂 I’m Mrs 35 and I want to go to Paris too.

    Reply
  2. Lol at Miss T’s ambitions!

    I haven’t even found the book yet ….. shhhh don’t tell Penny!

    Reply
  3. LOL, gorgeous!
    I recently read that book and loved it too, it took me a bit to get my head around the characters, becasuse of the format i think but well worth it.

    Reply
  4. It made me want to go to Guernsey too 🙂

    My 7 year old, Tom, wants to go to China. He’s trying to convince us to go there on holidays next year.

    Reply
  5. i loved the book too! your 4 yr old sounds adorable:)

    Reply
  6. I loved the book,too. I don’t think I would have picked it up had it bit been for the Book Club so I’m really pleased I joined in.

    LOL at Miss 4. When we recently told him we’re taking the family for a holiday to Melbourne it was about half an hour before we realised he didn’t know Melbourne was in Australia (not New Zealand). His aspirations are few!

    Reply
  7. PS too many typos – I don’t think my last post was coherent! Apologies (I was talking about Mr 8 and Aussie)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

